Posted by: eichner5 | December 6, 2007

bell hooks and her children’s book

I would like everyone to know if they don’t know already that bell hooks wrote a children book it is called in my own skin or my skin, I can’t exactly remember, but something like that. It is a childrens book about having different colored skin and through out the book it is asking not to be judgemental of the skin color to please come and get to know that person and find out what they are really like inside because they have so much to offer. I thought that everyone would enjoy reading it, I found it very interesting and was very happy that it addresses such strong issues to children, but yet it is a fun and not so serious book. I thought it was great and I hope that you all look it up and read it. It is really moving conidering that it is meant for children. I found it awesome that hooks it not just trying to reach out to the women and the world, but also she is trying to stop some of the oppression in peoples lives by starting at your youth. I feel strongly that the youth of day is our leaders for tomarrow and it is nice to know that some body esle thinks that way as well.

Responses

  1. “Skin Again” is the one I think you are thinking about. A quote from this book: “The skin I’m in is just a covering. It cannot tell my story”.
    An excerpt from this book:
    “Celebrating all that makes us unique and different, Skin Again offers new ways to talk about race and identity. Race matters, but only so much-what’s most important is who we are on the inside. Looking beyond skin, going straight to the heart, we find in each other the treasures stored down deep. Learning to cherish those treasures, to be all we imagine ourselves to be, makes us free […] Like layers of skin, readers will peel away the pages of this visionary work from the creators of Happy to be Nappy, and inside reveal all that is needed for us to be loving and accepting of one another.”
    This book and her others “Happy to Be Nappy” and “Homemade Love” seem so touching and great kids stories! If you get a chance to share them with others, or just yourself, they will be worth it!

  2. thank you for that tid bit. holiday shopping for children solved!

  3. If you liked that book, I recommend you look up Sharon Martini. She is a local woman who writes childrens songs and books about being different. Martini is also active in local theater that does plays important to women and minorities and children.

    She was a guest speaker at one of my womens studies classes last year and she sang for us. She is originally from the UK, so she has some very different perspectives on racism in the US. I asked her how it was different. She told me that in the US, we are still very segregated in how our lives and homes are set up. We refer to our neighbors at that Mexican family or that Indian family. In the UK, people refer to their neighbors by their names, like the Martinez Family (as an example) She said she was a little dissapointed becasue the US comes accross as being such a tolerant melting pot of all cultures, yet it is still segregated into cultural neighborhoods.

    Anyways, I really appreciated her perspective and her talent. I highly recommend looking her up.


Leave a Reply

Categories

