Posted by: msteph | October 2, 2007

La Chicana of Oppression

La Chicana of oppression.

 

In La Chicana I felt very humbled in a way. For not knowing much about Latino/a culture. It is one that is very intrigueing to me. Going throught some of the different systems and patterns that exist are very different then from my own background. “Family values” never really existed for me and when I think about feminism it really has nothing to do with my biological family but with the family that I have chosen. Those people that I relate to now. But Martinez really brings it back to the family being the major source of unity and the “major defense against the oppressor.” I would love to understand this and agree with this but I can’t. My mind cannot grasp the traditions learned when young because nothing was outstanding enough to hold onto. I love that in this culture of being a latina it does hold strong. It makes me want to strive for something better in my own life knowing how she feels about her own. And again with what was said many times in class. We must work together. Men and women. Not giving power to one and taking away from the other. Thanks.

Responses

  1. Re: “… Martinez really brings it back to the family being the major source of unity and the “major defense against the oppressor.” I would love to understand this and agree with this but I can’t.”

    I also have difficulty in understanding the concept of a supportive family. I once dated a fabulous chicana womyn who had an extensive family. They objected to her lesbianism, but did not remove her from their lives. when she began dating a transbian, she stirred up nothing more than a bit of surprise. I kept waiting for her family to cut her off in some major way, but it never happened. This was despite her life being opposed by their religious and cultural traditions.

    I came from a family that took a different approach to my own queerness – they treated me like gender trash, and only a few spoke to me – only long enough to make it clear that I was an abomination.

    The whole idea of a family as support seems rather alien to me. I can see the value of living in that world, but it is very contrary to my own experiences and expectations.

  2. I was definitely on board with Martinez’s article. I agree with you, though, that I don’t personally experience the traditional family unit as a tool for unity to be used against the Opressor.

    Something I brought up in my group about this aspect of her article was that it didn’t seem to leave a lot of room for same-sex relationships. Of course, it was only a few pages so I couldn’t expect to her to cover all the bases, but I wonder if same-sex families would fit under her definition of the traditional family, or under the grouping of feminists she argued against that “rejected traditional family” (43).


Leave a Reply

Categories

